Avoiding Information Overload by Being Selective About News

A lot of people believe that college students don’t pay attention to the news because they aren’t interested, but maybe they are just particular about what news they choose to focus on.

I am a student at the University of Tampa, and my only consistent source of news is the WMUR app on my phone. If you’ve never heard of WMUR, that’s because it’s actually a New Hampshire news station. It features stories about my home town of Milford, NH, and the surrounding area, and features important national stories from ABC.

The fact that you won’t catch me reading a Tampa Tribune doesn’t mean I don’t care what’s going on in the world, I just don’t care what’s going on in Florida unless it directly pertains to me. I prefer the news from home because I have no interest in staying here after I graduate, so news about taxes and local elections really don’t apply to me.

Rather than waste my time hearing about everything that happens in this state, I pay attention to what I believe will affect my life, so I also pick up the school newspaper occasionally.

Listening to the news from home makes me feel closer to my family, and what’s important to me. It doesn’t mean I’m apathetic, just picky.

As told to by Melissa Pellitteri

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

