Third grade writing… for college students

By Bri Eveler

Walking into FYW 102, I expected to have a bit of a challenge. Not to brag, but I got a 720 on the SAT writing. That’s only 80 points shy of a perfect score. I know how to write essays, or at least how to BS my way through a timed-writing prompt. Because of this score, I got to skip the first part of the writing class that is required for college freshman, FYW 101. I figured since every college student has to take 102 it had to be of some merit. I mean, it’s such an important class that no one is allowed to skip it.

But this class quickly became a joke.

My hopes went screaming and crashing to the ground as soon as the professor walked in. I won’t mention any names here, but let’s just say he looks and sounds like Gandhi with a pair of lovely large white dentures. This man always smiles. His trademark phrase is “Don’t get mad, get glad!” Yes. Like the esteemed storage bag commercial. I am not kidding.

As funny and wonderful as this may sound, friendliness does not make for a great professor. And, apparently, two doctorates don’t either. This wonderful man had big plans for his advanced writing students in his advanced writing class: a spelling test. Yep. Including such complex words as “to and too.”

The following weeks weren’t any better. We, as a class full of writers, were put through grammar exercises reminiscent of third grade workbooks, and the reading aloud of a book full of common grammar mistakes. As if this would teach us something.

What I want to know is how does this professor get away with this? How did he become a professor in a college when he would be better suited in an elementary school? Does no one realize that his class is teaching absolutely nothing to a myriad amount of students? Apparently not. The professor repeatedly talks about the “meetings” he has with his colleagues where they discuss lesson plans. Are all FYW classes this way?

I guess there’s not much I can do. I suppose I can look at it in a positive way: this class is an easy A. Alright. So I’m paying $2,000 for a good grade on my transcript. I guess I just have to accept the boost in my GPA and get on with my life.

And trust me, when teacher evaluations come, I will tear him apart. All while using the correct subject-verb agreement and the words “furthermore and consequently.”

 

 

About brieveler

Attending Unviersity of Tampa, studying Psychology and Journalism.
This entry was posted in Opinion Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

