9-11 a day we will never forget

By: Alexa Corea

Eleven years ago, one of the largest terrorists attacks took place in the United States. Two planes hi-jacked by al-Qaeda terrorists crashed into the World Trade Center located in lower Manhattan. With over 3,000 lives taken and thousands of lives affected this event has become a traumatic part of our history. Matthew Freeman a senior at the University of Tampa remembers September 11, 2001 like it was yesterday.

“I was eleven years old and was in Mrs. Rubin’s second period English class,” said Freeman.

Freeman a resident of Atlantic Beach, New York was just a mere 25 miles away from the attack. Freeman remembers seeing the smoke from his house and hearing the screams of his teachers.

 “I didn’t really know what was going on, a lot of my friends were crying at lunch but I wasn’t sure why, after lunch is when I found out the truth. One of the teachers in the hallway started to scream my husband, my husband and that is when I found out what had happened,” Freeman said.

After school Freeman remembers still being confused about what had taken place.

“Atlantic Beach is a small town where everyone knows one another, everyone was panicking. When I finally got home my old sister explained to me what had happened, some of her friends were surfing at the time of the attack and actually saw the planes crash into the towers,” said Freeman.

As an 11-year old and now as a 22-year-old Freeman still cannot truly wrap his head around the massive attack that had taken place in New York. 

“It has been 11 years but I still go and visit the new Freedom towers and just think how much this terrorist attack has changed the United States. From individual families to the city of New York, it still blows my mind.”

Freemans story of confusion and remembrance may be relatable to many people. September 11, 2001 is a day that many will never forget.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

